Friday, April 20, 2018

Be sure to check the genetic testing companies. 

It seems that all of them are offering special values for "DNA Day". 
 They may be limited in time, so check it out soon!

20 April, 2018

Saturday, February 17, 2018

February 13, 2018 Meeting

Eighteen members and guests enjoyed the program at the monthly meeting of the La Porte County Indiana Genealogical Society on February 13, 2018. The group met at the La Porte Park Department Headquarters.
President Ron Hyer conducted a business meeting. Afterward, all participated in "Stump the Society", with presentation of some genealogical  problems, usually known as "Brick Walls". A family group in New York in the 1840's is complicated by the fact that there are at least two Jacob Halters, two Peters, and two Elizabeths, all living in the Erie County at the same time. A question was presented of a probate filing and how long it might follow the death date. Another question was where to find the vital records for an island in the Baltic, which at times was governed by different nations. Opinions were exchanged on the best place to find early records from Kansas.
Dorothy Palmer reminded members that the Bus trip to Allen County Public Library is April 18, and the deadline for reservations is April 1st. Contact Patricia Harris.

The Next meeting will be Tuesday, March 14, at the Park Department facility, which is at 250 Pine Lake Avenue. Following the business portion of the meeting, La Porte County Historian Fern Eddy Schultz will present a program entitled “A Map for All Occasions.” Guests are always welcome.

An announcement at the meeting noted that RootsWeb servers are still mostly down, so the Society's Website is unavailable. The La Porte County site of INGenWeb is also dependent on this server, so be alert sor changes in these sites.

Friday, February 2, 2018

Save Those Memories!

An event is coming early next week at the La Porte County Public Library, Main Library (904 Indiana Avenue, La Porte.) I just heard it mentioned by two of the Library staff last Wednesday on the Breakfast Showcase show with Stan Maddux. Here is some copy from the Library website:

 Restoring & Digitizing Memories
 Main Library - Spark Labs
Monday, February 05: 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Keep those irreplaceable memories alive!

 Main Library - Spark Labs
Monday, February 05: 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Keep those irreplaceable memories alive!

They have some impressive hardware for patrons to use, and I believe they said they have a full complement of ADOBE software.

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

Bus Trip to Allen County Public Library

Bus Trip to Allen County Public Library

Sunday, January 7, 2018

January 9, 2018


There, I've written the year correctly at least once!

The weather seems to be moderating. If it permits, the La Porte County (IN) Genealogical society will hold our first meeting of the New Year on Tuesday evening, January 9, 2018. A new slate of officers will guide us this year, with President Ron Hyer, Vice-President Lester Chadwick, Secretary Cindy Blicher, Treasurer Larry Carlson, and Genealogist-Historian Fern Eddy Schultz.
The schedule calls for the meeting to start at 7 PM, CST. It will be at the La Porte City Park Department Headquarters at 250 Pine Lake Avenue, La Porte. The program will feature members' recollections of family traditions and how they have helped them in their family research.
While rootsweb is not available, look to FaceBook and this Blog to give you updates on the Society.

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Website Notice

The Society's Webpage is not available now. Along with numerous pages hosted by Rootsweb, a server problem is blamed. For updates, please follow us on FaceBook or check our Blog here at

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

"Fatal Error" and a fortunate salvage

Several members and guests at the November meeting of the La Porte County, IN Genealogical Society were entertained by a presentation by Betty Morris of Westville. In 1994, Betty rescued an abandoned suitcase which was sitting on the curb  near her Michigan City apartment.

When she opened the suitcase, Betty found the documents and clues which resulted in a tale of courage and tragedy, the story of the crew of a Navy patrol bomber brought down by Japanese gunfire. With these clues, Gary D Cooper, commander USN (Ret.), filled in the tale and published it in a book, "Fatal Error," in 2015.

The society meets every second Tuesday in the month (except June and December) at the La Porte City Park Department Headquarters, 250 Pine Lake Avenue, La Porte. December's meeting will be the annual Christmas Party, held at 6 PM at Round the Clock restaurant. This meeting will feature the presentation of the Genealogist of the Year award, and reservations should be sent to Patricia Gruse Harris, 504 Greenwood Avenue, Michigan City, IN 46360 ( or 219-872-3273; reservation deadline is Friday, December 1, 2017.